Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
ENGLISH LEARNERS
11 janvier 2021

Talking about what you do

PRESENT

                                                                                                                      

Subject + verb

 

 

Accountant -> Comptable

My job involves forecasting -> Mon travail implique des prévisions

I follow up outstanding / unpaid invoices

 

To get through                       to manage, to finish the project

To run through                       chercher, regarder en détail

To go into                               étudier, examiner, entrer dans

To run out                              s’épuiser, expirer

To drop by                             visiter, aller à la banque

To get out                               sortir sur pc, listing

To come back                         revenir, rappeler

To take down                         noter

To put back                            remettre à plus tard

To run up                                dépasser, accumuler

 

Every day, I get through roughly / approximately 30 invoices

To take out a loan -> un prêt à la banque

 

You’ve run out of time, and if you pay today it’s ok, but if you don’t pay, I must charge a penalty.

 

 

Have you got …..?

I’ve got some / It’s ok

 

Depend on / It depends

 

 

 

PRONUNCIATION

 

 

P

A

Y

 

M

E

 

 

 

I

 

K

N

O

W

Y

O

U

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

MEETING

 

Thank you for coming. We’ll be here for about an hour. We have a few points we need to discuss.

 

Three main points       (main : toujours au singulier)

 

Firstly :

We need to make some cuts in our publicity budget.

We need to be aware of when we are spending too much money.

 

Be aware of : se rendre compte

 

Secondly:

We have to find new clients / we must find

 

Finally :

We are going to start the new program…

We will be starting…

 

Conclusion:

Please give it some thought and call me.

 

 

 

PRESENT CONTINUOUS

 

Subject + be + verb + ing

 

Good afternoon, I’m calling you because I’m chasing up payment for invoice ZY329/456.

At the moment I’m learning English.

 

Two women are walking in the park.

A lot of people are attending a concert.

This two men are drinking in a pub.

This young people are dancing.

This family is eating in the dining room.

This man is bowling.

They’re watching a play (pièce de théatre)

 

1/ To carry out -> effectuer

This week I am carring out some charges cut in the publicity budget.

 

2/ To manage -> réussir / gérer

At the moment I am managing a meeting about the budget, with ten people.

 

3/ To go through -> verify

At this time I am going through the EDF invoices.

 

 

4/ To check -> verify

Now I am checking my bank statement.

 

5/ To arrange -> mettre en place

This year my boss is arranging a meeting in a chateau.

 

6/ To take care of -> s’occuper de / faire attention à

Today I am taking care of unpaid invoices.

 

7/ To query a price -> se douter de l’information concernant un prix

This afternoon I am querying your expenses sheet (note de frais).

 

I’m getting a lot of mails concerning promotions.

I’m trying to contact Mr XXX.

At the moment, I’m trying to increase the profit margen and to cut down the expenses.

I’m confirming the flight.

I will be needing the payment for…

 

It appears that… Il apparatî que…

To pay upfront    Payer avant la commande

Will you be able to help me ?

Track down payment for the invoice

 

 

 

Trade journal

Phone to us

Company   Société / Entreprise

To get   Chopper, Attraper

Getting business

To close the deal   Conclure le contrat

Can I put me sthrough to the person who deals with payment for invoices

I have to go

Date back to

The invoice is due

Me neither / Me too   Moi non plus / Moi aussi

Neither John, not Peter   Ni John, ni Peter

Money transfert

Tablet   Médicament

To urge   Urgent

Customer / Supplier

 

 

 

MUST / HAVE TO

 

Subject +Must + verb

Subject + Have to + verb

 

The profit margen must be 15%.

Money transfert can be made by fax.

Prices may increase but you must stay competetif.

Salary cheques must be signed by the director.

 

1/ The forecast for next year must be followed carefully.

2/ Next year we must make a profit to pay off the bank.

3/ You must have some identity papers to open an account.

4/ If the market remains stable, we may be able to survy.

5/ If you don’t pay the invoices within 60 days, you will have to penalties.

 

You don’t have to pay

You don’t have to have an account to work with Tagaro.

It’s not me who deals with that. I must put you throught to Pierre

You have to pay in 2 days. You mustn’t forget.

You have to be carefuly

 

 

                                               J                           Be Careful!

You must go and see ET

You have to have a hard hat

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You don't have to drink

 

 

                      240 V

 

 

 

 

 

You mustn't touch electrical

 

equipment with wet hands

 

 

 

MUST < HAVE TO

 

 

 

ADVERB

 

Adjective + LY

 

Careful -> carefuly

 

 

 

PASSIVE

 

To service : contrôle technique / visite pour voitures / machinerie

Clean up : Rusty metal objects can be cleaned up with a shot blash machine

To look after : veiller sur

To query : interroger

To bring back : rendre quelque chose, rapporter

 

Past Perfect :  subject + had been + verb + ed

Past                 subject + was / were + verb + ed

 

When I bought my car, it had been service.

When I finished my bath, I got dry and I got dowstairs I saw that the bath had leaked.

The sports car was serviced before the race.

My dog was taken care of by a friend.

 

Present perfect : subject + have / has been + verb + ed

My aunt has been looked after by my friend during my holidays.

I have been exchanged my old computer by a new computer.

My old computer has been exchanged for a new computer.

My flight has been confirmed by the air company.

The meeting has been arranged for 2 o’clock.

The prices have been queried before the purchase.

 

Present (simple) :        The invoices are sent every day.

Present continue :       A lot of progress is being made.

 

During a meeting the minutes are taken down, they are typed and sent to all of the people who are present.

 

 

 

MODALS OF OBLIGATION

 

Must be + verb + ed

Has to be + verb + ed

Will be + verb +

 

You must be rested before your exam.                                                        Rested : reposé

The pants have to be cleaned if you want to use them.

Susan’s exam for her to be a doctor will be given in June.

 

 

 

GIVING YOUR OPINION

 

I agree with you

As far as I’m concerned

 

 

Put it this way                                                                       it will be a good investment

That’s not exactly how I see it                                 

I totally agree as long as                                            à condition que

 

 

 

VOCABULARY

 

Military might : force militaire

Scrambled: trouver vite sa place (situation militaire)

Increasingly regular basis : de plus en plus souvent

Swagger: attitude supérieure

Collaps : s’effondrer

Claim: déclarer

Flew: voler dans les airs

To have a row : avoir une dispute, se disputer

Shield : bouclier

Reflective streap : bande reflective

 

Tagaro’s product range from hotel magazines to perfume magazines.

 

 

 

GETTING BACK TO SOMEONE

 

 

 

 

         1                         2                          3                         4                        5

       Past                  Present                Present               Present                Future

                                perfect                                        continuous

 

    Dear Peter,

1  I received your e-mail dated 12th august concerning the unpaid invoice for Alcatel ref XYZ,

2  and I have checked it in our files.

3  It appears that the sum is outstanding.

4  We are expecting payment of € 6.803 before friday,

5  after that we will obliged to charge you penalties.

    Yours sincerely.

 

Dear Alain,

I’m writing to you to see whether you could send me your lastest catalogue please.

Regards

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
ENGLISH LEARNERS
Publicité
Publicité