Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
ENGLISH LEARNERS
11 janvier 2021

phrasal verbs

To get away with

 to get away with

This means that you can do something and you won’t have any problems because of it 

 I think if you wear this dress with the shoes it’s not really ideal but you could get away with it if you don’t wear any terrible jewellery.

 

To go into

 to go into

For example to develop an idea

To go into detail

 to go into detail

To give more information about something

So this idea was mine and I first approached a manufacturing company and I asked them to give me a price and without going into detail I decided to work with them because they were reasonable concerning price.

 

To put off

 to put off

This means to cancel meeting for example we decided to cancel the meeting we decided to put off the meeting until next week.

 

Do you mind not eating while I’m working because it’s putting me off my work

 do you mind not eating while I’m working because it’s putting me off my work

To put off means to distract so when children do the homework they shouldn’t play on the phone because it can put them off.

 

To put down to something

 to put down to something

We find the reason why this happened is this

Line why this happened is this

For example we can put the problem down to the noise

We can put the problem down to the cost

 

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
ENGLISH LEARNERS
Publicité
Publicité